SU’s Best Thoughts cards

OK, so I’ve been making cards, but not blogging them.  This past weekend, I needed to make a birthday card for someone I don’t know all that well. So, I pulled out SU’s Best Thoughts stamp set (a hostess set now retired), and played. I started by cutting some watercolor paper into 3 x 4 inch panels. I inked the stamp in Noir Black Palette Ink, and stamped the flower image on the panels. I re-inked and stamped just the flowers again on some scrap watercolor paper. Using Distress inks and Copics, I coloured the flowers on both the full panel and the scrap. I just did a quick colour wash on the panel, and went into detail on the scrap watercolour paper. When I was satisfied with my flowers, I cut them out, and foam mounted them to the panel. Finishing the cards were simple. Some punched out butterflies (SU Bitty Butterfly and Elegant Butterfly), some Wink of Luna on the green gold and pink butterflies, ribbon, matching cardstock for the panel’s layer, and I was good to go.  I ended up making the purple flowers the birthday card….. and realized I still have a ton of birthday cards, so I made the other two cards into Hello type cards.

 

I also added some Lindy’s Stamp Gang Spray in Cactus Gold, Witch’s Potion Purple, Cotton Candy Pink and Orange Creamsicle to the watercolour panels before attaching them to the cardstock layer.  The birthday sentiment is Quietfire Designs, the “For some things” is SU, and “Just a Note” is American Crafts.  The strip of bling on the purple card was given to me in an ATC supplies trade.

Thanks for looking, have a great day 🙂

 

 

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on July 6, 2016, in birthday, Cards and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

