An Order for a Local Non Profit

2015.10.14 WHY SYMPATHY CARD ORDER 01 2015.10.14 WHY SYMPATHY CARD ORDER 02 2015.10.14 WHY SYMPATHY CARD ORDER 03 2015.10.14 WHY SYMPATHY CARD ORDER 04 2015.10.14 WHY SYMPATHY CARD ORDER 05 2015.10.14 WHY SYMPATHY CARD ORDER 06 2015.10.14 WHY SPECIAL BIRTHDAY CARD ORDER (DOT T) 04 - CopyI had a card order in late September to do a dozen sympathy cards, and a special milestone birthday card.  What you see are the dozen sympathy cards, and at the bottom of all the pictures, the milestone birthday card. I ended up  changing a couple of the top cards, as some die pieces broke.

The top four cards are all die cuts, using several die companies. The “With Sympathy” is Dee’s Distinctively, the flowers are Taylored Expressions, and the   butterflies are Simon Says Stamp and memory Box.  The images in the four cards are all Copic coloured.  And no, I don’t remember what I used for colouring them 🙂

The next four cards are a mix of Newton’s Nook and Stampin Up. I used Newton’s Nook for the “heartfelt sympathy” sentiment, and SU “Thoughts and Prayers” for the image, and a retired hostess SU set for the “with sympathy”. I coloured the flower branch image with Distress markers, and added some washi tape and sheer ribbon to the card.  I used some SU black and white Blushing Bride patterned paper for the background, and Spellbinders Lacy Ovals for the layer.

The last set of four sympathy cards  are very similar to the set before, only for the image instead of the “Thoughts and Prayers” flower branch, I used some copic coloured flowers from SU’s “The Flower Shop” and a leafy piece from a retired SU framelits set (I believe it was Secret Garden), cut in Pistachio Pudding card stock.

The milestone birthday card was so much fun to make.  I started with some cream coloured cardstock, thinking I’d just do a 8.5 x 11 inch card.  It ended up being a mini album and card combined.    I had to reinforce the front and back with some cream coloured cardstock wrapped around some sturdy cardboard.  There were 12 pages inside the album, and I had randomly put in four verses from Quietfire Designs.  I hole punched the top to put the ribbon in, and I used simple Japanese stab binding.  The front is a mix of stuff. The vellum roses are a SU Manhattan Floral rose, stamped in white ink with white embossing on white vellum, and coloured on the back with a Copic (R85). The leaves are more of the SU Secret Garden leaf done in Pistachio Pudding.  The  bottom left corner is a combination of some foam roses and some paper roses.  The foam roses I got at the dollar store, and the paper roses are from My Favorite Things rolled rose die.

The “Happy Birthday” is from one of my favourite companies, Quietfire Design.  Suzanne, who owns and runs Quietfire, just got into making metal dies for those of us who don’t own electronic die cutting machines.  Let’s just say, not only am I addicted, I have managed to make several more fans of her dies.  It is her calligraphy, made into a die.  These dies just came out in August, so I am slowly building my collection.  I die cut the Happy Birthday several times in white cardstock, and once in some Bazzill  shimmery pink cardstock.  I glued the layers together, putting the pink on top.

Thanks for looking, I’ve been sick all summer.  Got on a med that was literally making me very ill, but with no doctor in town, it took til fall to see one, and got it figured out.

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on November 13, 2015, in Cards. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

