Some Copic Colouring

I know most of you are getting up off the floor, since this is my second blog post within a week! Wow, how does that happen??? 🙂  I got blessed big time and got another 6 Copics, bringing my total to 34, including a colorless blender and black.  I also recently had the chance to pick up the NEW Memory Box Fairyland Butterflies die.  The pictures above are the result of the combination of the Copics and die.  I simply die cut the butterflies out of black cardstock, and glued them to some shimmer paper that I got at Michaels (I used a lot of white with gold shimmer, but also used a sheet of champagne and a sheet of the silvery grey).  I cut the shimmer paper to 5.25 x 4 inches, so the butterflies just fit on the paper. Once the glue was dry, I coloured with Copics. Now, I am not anywhere near a good colourer or anything, so what I did is put a layer of the lightest colour down on the butterflies. Then I added the darker colour where I wanted it, pushing the colour out a bit beyond where I actually wanted it to end.  I went over the EDGE of the darker colour with the lighter colour to blend the colours together.  I am quite happy with my results 🙂  I did find that the white with gold shimmer paper held up better than the champagne or the grey, so I won’t use those colours again. 2015.04.19 LILAC BUTTERFLY CARD FRONTS2015.04.19 AQUA BUTTERFLY CARD FRONTS 2015.04.19 ORANGE AND YELLOW BUTTERFLY CARD FRONTS 2015.04.19 PINK BUTTERFLY CARD FRONTS2015.04.19 LAVENDER#MAUVE BUTTERFLY CARD FRONTS Copic colours:  B00, BG45 (for the Aqua butterflies), R83. R85, and RV69 (Pink butterflies.. I started with the R85 as my darker colour, but I prefer the contrast with the RV69. R83 was my lighter colour). Y18, YR09 and YR18 for the orange and yellow butterflies (I didn’t love how the Sanguine and yellow blended, it looked too brown to me, so I went with Chinese Orange). The mauve/lavender butterflies were V01 and V06, and the Lilac (blue violet) butterflies were BV11 and BV08. Thanks so much for looking, and enjoy your week!

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on April 19, 2015, in Cards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I had never considered trying Copic colouring on shimmer papar! Nice results. You will now find blending colours on Copic friendly card stocks a breeze.

    • I got the idea from Pinterest. A lady did the identical card to mine, only she coloured on glitter paper. I loved the look, but didn’t like the idea of my nibs getting wrecked on the glitter, so I used shimmer paper instead. I really love the effect.

Leave a Reply

