A Mixed Media Get Well Card

2013.10.17  MIXED MEDIA GET WELL CARD (LORI FROM EXERCISE)I volunteered to make a card for a lady in my exercise class who very recently got diagnosed with Breast Cancer.  Someone had said to BUY a card for her.  OK,  I frankly have issues with people buying cards when I can make something and donate it.  I can’t do much with making meals for her and her family, but a card, THAT I can do.

I started with some watercolour paper.  Using a couple Plaid stencils, a Tim Holtz applicator and foam attachments, I inked up the whole 9 x 12 inch piece of paper with the stencils using acrylic paints in Cherry Blossom pink and Leaf Green.  I heat set it, then went over the whole thing with Antique Linen Distress Stain.  I misted and tried to flick, but it didn’t work so I made do.  I decided to add some brown to the mix by splattering Walnut Stain Distress Stain in a few spots.  I then dragged some embossing paste over a section of the watercolour paper. Once that was dry, I edged the panel in Walnut Stain Distress Stain.

For the flowers, I took some Crate Paper, cut it to 6×6 pieces, and ran it through my Big Kick with Tim Holtz’s Tattered Florals die. I had 4 layers of the green paper and 4 layers of the pinky red paper.  After much debate, I finally  decided on what flowers to add to the card.  For the pink flowers, I inked the edges in Walnut Stain Distress ink, then sprayed with Perfect Pearls in Perfect Pearl.  The green flower I edged in Walnut Stain distress ink. I wanted to add a couple of butterflies, so I grabbed a two from a K&Company chipboard pack of butterflies.  They needed a bit more shine, so I added a touch of Diamond Stickles to them.

While that was drying, I did a bit of stamping.  I used Belle Rose Palette ink, and stamped a script stamp in places, changing where I added pressure, and trying NOT to make it look uniform.  I then took an Amuse stamp set that I bought last year, and stamped the Breast cancer symbol in Belle Rose Ink, and “HOPE” and “I support you” in Noir Black Palette ink. I crossed out the “I” in the “I support you” and put “we” above it.  I found a  die cut heart, and added some Worn Lipstick Distress Stickles to it.  Once all the pieces were dry, I adhered the heart and butterflies to the watercolour panel.  I then adhered the watercolour paper to a 6 x 6 inch square chocolate brown card base.

I made the card in time for most of the class to sign it before it was delivered to the recipient.

Thank you for coming today 🙂

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on October 23, 2013, in card and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love this!! And I sooo agree with the whole idea of buying a card when we can make one. Beautiful card.
    Yvonne

Leave a Reply

