Christmas Alphabet Tag Swap

2013.10.15 CHRISTMAS TAG SWAP LETTER L 2013.10.15 CHRISTMAS TAG SWAP LETTER D 2013.10.15 CHRISTMAS TAG SWAP LETTER OEvery year on one of my Yahoo groups, there is an Christmas Alphabet Tag Swap.  I usually do one letter,  but this year, because of issues with who was actually doing the hosting, the swap got started very, very late.  To help out the new hostess of the swap, I agreed to do THREE letters.  I will get 3 sets of tags for doing this, but making 84 tags to mail in about a 6 week window frame was stressing me out.  Especially when the letters L and O were NOT working out to my original design.

The tags above are the finished product.  The tags need to be identical, so that each person gets the same tag in the set.  For the L tag, I used Spun Gold acrylic paint mixed with some water to cover the tag.  I then stamped the Tim Holtz Crackle stamp from Joyful Song all over the tag in Gathered Twigs Distress Ink. Using Palette Noir Black ink, I stamped the nativity scene (The Stampin Place).  I stamped the word “Love” from Quietfire Designs in Fired Brick Distress Ink.  I finished the tag by stamping the letter L in the Noir Black ink.  I know that the letters I used for stamping the tag letter is a typewriter woodblock set, but can’t remember who makes it.

For the D tag,  I started by spraying all the tags with Tattered Angels Butternut Squash Glimmer mist.  While that was drying, I stamped the dove in Versafine Sepia on cream cardstock, then fussy cut out. Once the tag was dry, I stamped “A Joyful Christmas” from Tim Holtz’s Joyful Song stamp set in Sepia Versafine.  I foam mounted the dove on to the tag, and finished by stamping the letter D in the bottom right corner with Sepia Versafine.

For the O tag, I mixed some water with some silver acrylic paint and covered the tag completely.  Once it was dry, I used a tree branch from an older Tim Holtz stamp set, and stamped the branches in Giverney Green Palette ink.  I finished the tag by foam mounting an ornament (It was patterned paper punched with a retired SU punch), and stamping the letter O in Noir Black Palette ink on the top left corner of the tag.

I hope the other participants enjoy these tags 🙂

Thank you for having a look.

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on October 20, 2013, in Christmas card and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

