“Hugs” Mixed Media Canvas

2013.08.25 HUGS MIXED MEDIA CANVAS

I was missing my youngest child this weekend, and decided to do a canvas and play with some mixed media some more. I started with a 12 x 12 inch canvas. I took a page from Limor Webber and started this canvas with some strips of patterned paper set up as a loose weave. I covered it with Fluid matte medium. I then put some Gesso on the canvas, not trying to get good coverage, so that some of the patterned papers would show. I added some acrylic paint spritzed with water in blue, purple and pink.

Using some home made embossing paste and some homemade stencils, I added a key, some hearts and some butterflies to the canvas, and heat set it. For the stencils, I used Hero Arts and Spellbinders dies. I spritzed a couple of Tattered Angels mists over the piece… I used Night B4 Christmas and Waterslide. I added some pieces of patterned napkin to the canvas, as well as some ribbon and washi tape. Once everything was well adhered to the canvas, I went over the piece with fluid matte medium again. I added a bit more watered down acrylic paint. I used the same paints to paint the crackled butterflies and flower circle. The pink flower is a SU flower that I got from a retreat in May.. I edged it in Vintage Photo distress ink. I used a couple of the cut out hearts from the stencil, painted them pink, then covered them in Spun Sugar Distress Stickles. The key that I did in embossing paste, I used Tumbled Glass Distress Stickles on it. The letters that spell “Hugs” were from a dollar store from ages ago. Once all the painted/stickled pieces were dry, I used a glue gun to adhere it all to the canvas. I finished the canvas with a picture of myself and my youngest.

Thank you so much for having a peek. 🙂

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on August 29, 2013, in Hero Arts, mixed media and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

