My First Attempts at Art Journaling

2013.08.06 Journal page 012013.08.06 Journal page 02

These are my first two attempts at art journal pages. For the first page, I used just plain Staples white cardstock. The first layout has a watercolour pencil background and mostly stamping with some die cuts. I foolishly thought I could a layout right behind the one page, hence the re-inker mess on the page. I used a SimonSaysStamp exclusive die, and a LOT of Tim Holtz stamps on it.

The second page I did on watercolour paper. For the background, I used a combination of re-inker spritzed with water, stamping Distress ink on an acrylic block, then misting and stamping, as well as Distress Stain pounced on the paper, for splotches. I also added some Neat and Tangled Ink Splash marks. There is a lot of stamping on the second layout, as well as stamping into tinted Gesso, and a new to me technique for making a linen like background with acrylic paint (Claudine Hellmuth’s Technique Toolbox class from Big Picture Classes). I added some SimonSaysStamp exclusive stamps, some Hero Arts stamps, and a couple of Memory Box Vivienne die cuts.

These art journal pages are for a challenge on FB.. it is to use the colour palette of Seeds “Strawberry Brights”

Thanks for looking 🙂

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on August 9, 2013, in Cards and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oooo, love the top one!

  2. Excellent work for your first attempts 🙂

  3. These are great! I’m particularly fond of the top one. (I’m a huge fan of the watercolor pencil.) Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. They look great! I love all the different textures in the second one. You’re off to a terrific start with art journaling.

  5. How prettyy. Nice first attempts at art journaling. n__n

Leave a Reply

