Another Birthday Card

Sylvia's Birthday Card

I did another birthday card for a local friend this month (her birthday is July, but she’ll be moving before then). This time, I decided to try stamping with Gesso again. I am MUCH happier with the results of this than my ATCs I did with stamping with Gesso. To start this card, I started with a 8×9 inch card base in white, folded and scored on the 4 inch mark of the 8 inch side, to give me a 4×9 inch card base. I set that aside, and took a big scrap of Baja Breeze cardstock and cut it to 4×9 inches to cover the front. Taking some Dollar store patterned paper, cut 1/4 inch smaller on each side than the card base, I inked it with Distress Inks. I used Spun Sugar, Worn Lipstick and Broken China. Once the paper was coloured to my liking, I put on a very thin layer of Gesso on the bottom third, and let sit for a few minutes. Once it was set, but not dry, I put my stamp into the Gesso, pressed gently, and carefully pulled away. I used the Hero Arts stamp Everything Flower. I let the Gesso dry thoroughly (overnight for me), then I continued on. I took some Autumn Leaves chipboard letters for her name, and stuck them to the card. I went over every other letter with either Spun Sugar or Broken China Distress markers. Still in a mood to have stitching on my cards, I poked holes around the portion of the patterned paper that WAS NOT in Gesso, and used a Broken China Distress marker to be the “thread”. I used a nice wide piece of lace that I have, and wrapped it around the right hand side of the pattern paper. I adhered the pattern paper to the Baja Breeze front cover, then added a big butterfly from K&Company. The butterfly needed something, so I covered it in Glossy Accents, and sprinkled some Diamond glitter on the butterfly, and let dry. Once dry, I adhered the Baja Breeze panel to the card base, and finished the card by adding a Prima Flower to the bottom left corner, with a paper rose in the centre.

Happy Birthday Sylvia, I hope your birthday next month is awesome!

Thanks for looking 🙂

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on June 23, 2013, in Cards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. this is delightful Karen. Saw it on FB and had to come for a closer look. The stamping on the wet gesso is awesome

  2. VERY nice! I like it ALOT! 🙂

Leave a Reply

