Queen of Hearts Challenge

2013.01.31 VALENTINE CARD 05

This is a card I did for the Queen of Hearts Challenge from Quietfire Designs. This card was also originally meant for a swap, but in the end, I opted to do something different for the swap. I used a dark red/burgundy card base. I took a white doily, and inked it with Spun Sugar and Worn Lipstick Distress Stains, heat setting it after each colour. I had a big scrap of cram cardstock, and used that to stamp a heart from the Quietfire Designs 2013 Valentine’s stamp set three times, going off the cardstock in Spun Sugar Distress Ink. I then stamped the heart again on more cream scrap in Worn Lipstick Distress Ink, and cut out. I stamped the sentiment in Aged Mahogany Distress Ink. I coloured the rose in the cut out heart in Spun Sugar. I then added 3 strips of cream ribbon on the right hand side of the cream big scrap. I assembled the card, adhering the doily to the card base and trimmed off the excess. I taped the cream panel to the doily and card base. At this point, I looked at the card and wasn’t happy with it. So, I added gold gel pen around a lot of the middle heart. The rose didn’t show at all, so I stamped another rose on cream scrap in Worn Lipstick, and coloured it with the Spun Sugar marker, cut out, and taped it to the rose on the second heart. I foam mounted the cut out rose on top of the first rose on the cream panel. I finished the card by adding three small die cut hearts on the bottom right hand corner, and rounded the corners.

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on February 11, 2013, in Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. lovely card. thanks for sharing!

  2. Very pretty, I like the use of the doily too.

  3. I enjoyed your card. Thank you.

  4. Lovely card Karen! Thanks for playing in the Queen of Hearts Challenge!

Leave a Reply

