Christmas Card Samples

I had made a lot of Christmas cards this year, and I was playing around, making some samples to see if I want to use it for 2012’s Christmas cards.. yep, I do some Christmas cards year round, so that I’m not panicking in October making 100+ cards. I aim to make 6 cards a month, and that gives me a good head start on the Christmas cards.

I wanted to play some of my favourite colour combinations for Christmas cards, and they are not your usual red and green, or blue and silver cards. I went with a turquoise and brown, and a pink and brown combination for the cards. For the turquoise card, I started with a brown card base, and rounded the corners. Using some Cool Caribbean cardstock, I stamped the snowflake all over the card randomly. I then stamped the sentiment in Vintage Photo Distress ink. I rounded the corners, added some turquoise ribbon, and mounted it onto the brown card base. The stamps on this card are all Quietfire Design (www.quietfiredesign.ca). This would be a nice card to mass produce, it’s simple but very nice, and it’s quite flat for easy mailing.
The pink and brown card started with a brown card base. I used some pink paper from Authentique (Uncommon) and cut it to size, rounded the top corners. I used Vintage Photo Distress ink to distress the paper, and age it. I stamped the sentiment (Hero Arts) in Walnut Stain Distress ink. The snowflake is from a SU punch, punched in cream cardstock and inked with Worn Lipstick Distress ink. The snowflake is the centered on a brown panel with rounded corners, and attached with a brad. I adhered the big panel to the card base, then taped a strip of Uncommon paper to the bottom third of the card. I foam mounted the snowflake panel to the card. I do like this idea, I am just not sure if I’d do it in pink.. I think I’d prefer to do it in some Christmassy paper instead. But I do like the layout of the card, I did CASE it from a square card I made at a Make and Take in November.

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Cards, Christmas card and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

