A Shell Card

I really wanted to do a card with this DCWV cardstock that I had, that had the cream/vanilla with brown shells on it, and a grid pattern. I started with a kraft card base, made to a standard card. I cut a piece of dark brown cardstock to 3.75 x 5 inches. I cut the patterned cardstock to 3.5 x 4.5 inches. I used Fired Brick Distress ink, and stamped the shell (Hero Arts) three times, starting with the centre shell, and stamping off the cardstock. On some scrap of the shell cardstock, I stamped the shell again, cut out, and foam mounted it to the middle shell. I wanted to add the medium brown to the card, so I used some Martha Stewart ribbon with “Happy Birthday” on it, and wrapped it around the shell cardstock. At this point, as I was trying to layer the shell cardstock to the dark brown cardstock, I screwed up, and should have cut the shell paper 4.75 inches, not 4.5 inches. To solve this problem, and to bring some more red onto the card, I cut a .75 inch strip of red cardstock 3.5 inches long, and used my grid to line up the red cardstock square with the shell cardstock. I foam mounted the shell layer to the dark brown panel, then adhered the entire thing to the kraft cardstock.

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on July 14, 2011, in birthday, card, clean and simple, DCWV, Distress Ink, Hero Arts, Summer Card Camp 2011. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. What gorgeous shells! Love you shading on them. Beautiful.

  2. This card is AMAZING!!! I love it!!!

  3. Very nice card! I love that you layered stamping on pattern paper and also added dimension by cutting out a shell and adhering it on the middle image.

  4. That’s some real creative thinking, i like it!

Leave a Reply

