Summer Card Camp Cards

These are some cards I made this week, using the colour combination at the Summer Card Camp. I am finding this colour combo challenging, only because I usually use more blue toned papers and colours. It’s a good thing I’m collecting all the Tim Holtz Distress inks, otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to make the cards.
For the first card, I used a Pumpkin Pie card base (SU), cut, scored and folded to a standard sized card. Next, I took a full sheet of cream cardstock and distressed it with Wild Honey, Shabby Shutters, Peeled Paint, and Spiced Marmalade Distress inks. I inked up some smooth plastic, then spritzed it heavily with water, then laid the entire sheet of cardstock on it. I heat set, but I still wasn’t happy with it… then it came to me, I’ll Koosh it! So starting with Shabby Shutters, and ending with Spiced Marmalade, I Kooshed the entire cardstock. I was much happier with this result. I cut a piece of it to 4 x 5.25 inches, Using Peeled Paint, I stamped the leaves from Delicate Clusters (Hero Arts) in the middle of the Kooshed piece. To follow the sketch for another challenge, I trimmed the panel. I took a scrap of white text paper, and used decorative scissors on it to get a scalloped border. Then I inked the whole thing in Spiced Marmalade. I adhered it to the bottom of the stamped panel, leaving the scallops to be on their own. I had some fibre that was yellow-orange, so I used that to wrap around the panel. I took some Bazzil Limeade cardstock, cut it to 4 inches by about 1.25 inches, and stamped Birthday Wishes (Hero Arts) in Peeled Paint ink. I taped the limeade cardstock to the bottom of the pumpkin pie base, leaving a bit of a border. When I loosely placed the stamped panel on top, it needed something, so I rounded the top two corners. To finish the card, I foam mounted the stamped panel to the card base.

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on July 7, 2011, in 4 patterned papers, birthday, Cards, Distress Ink, Hero Arts, Inkadinkado, Kristina Werner. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I really like this card. I can’t believe you Kooshed it! What a great technique. I swear it looks like textured mulberry paper. That is truly what I thought it was when I first looked at it. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

