It’s a Mexican Fiesta!! Summer Card Camp Week 2

This week’s colour combination really reminds of a Mexican Fiesta, with its bright, happy, bold colours. I managed to pop into the closest Michaels to me yesterday, and picked up a sheet of each colour for the colour combination. I will be the first to admit, these are NOT my colours, I would never purposely have chosen to use most of them, let alone in this combination. So I had fun at my stamping group today coming up with a couple of cards.

For the first card, I had a landscape card in Kraft cardstock. I took .5 inch strips of each colour, and adhered them from the left hand side in pseudo random order. I then made three wraps of twine around the coloured cardstock strips, and I added one vertically. I took the sentiment (Hero Arts) and stamped it in Versafine Black Onyx on the right hand side. The card didn’t look complete to me, so I punched a 1.5 inch circle in the light green and stamped the dragonfly (The Stampin Place) in the black Versafine, using the pad to edge the circle. I finished the card by foam mounting the dragonfly to where the three wraps of twine intersected.

For the second card, I started with a white card base, and took the remains of the strips of coloured cardstock, and used three strips to make a 3 tiered cake. The cake didn’t look defined or frosted, so I used Black Diamond Stickles to edge the cake, and to add the look of some frosting, I went underneath the Black Diamond Stickles with Crystal Stickles. While that dried, I stamped three candles (Hero Arts) on to the other three remaining strips, and cut out. I used one layer of foam tape for the outside candles, and two layers of foam tape for the middle candle. For the flames, I only foam mounted the centre flame, the other two were flatly adhered to the card base.

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Cards. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

