A Nautical Card

A Nautical Themed Card
I really liked the idea of a nautical theme, that Jay Gee’s Nook had on this month (http://jgsnook.blogspot.com/). Using some patterned paper that I got from DCWV “The Four Seasons” pack, I trimmed the neutral shell page to 3.75 x 5 inches. I took the scrapbook page with the shells, red and light blue waves, and cut it to the same size. I then used my cutter very carefully and trimmed a .25 inch inside the paper, so that I ended up with a 3.75 x 5 inch frame. I had some light vellum, and I stamped my lighthouse (The Stampin Place) in Chipped Sapphire Distress ink on the vellum, and heat set to quicken drying time. I taped the edges of the vellum to the neutral shells cardstock, then taped the frame over the lighthouse. Using part of the inside scrap of the frame, I punched out a 1.5 inch circle of shells in the red cardstock. When I loosely placed it on the card, I liked it, but it still needed something more to anchor it. I did adhere the panel to a navy card base. I searched and found some broken shell pieces that my oldest had given me after going to Mexico on a missions trip, as well as some sand. That was all I needed. I used Crystal Effects (SU) to adhere the shell pieces to the two upper corners, and to add sand to the a shell in the red cardstock circle. Once everything was dry, I brushed the sand back into the bag, and foam mounted the red circle to the bottom right hand corner.

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Cards. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

