>A Challenge Card

>

This card fulfills three challenges: the CAS-ual Friday challenge 8 card, which was to do something edgy with your card, The Play Date Cafe challenge 87, which was to use slate blue, barn red and grey on a card, and the current Hero Arts challenge, which is to do a congratulations card.  I started with a slate blue (as close as I had) base, cut folded and scored to a standard base card.  I then had fun, and tore the card to give an edge.   I inked the torn edge in Stormy Sky distress ink.  I used some gingham patterned paper in slate blue and barn red, cut it to length, and taped it to the underside of the card.  I tried to do a different edge again, but it didn’t work.  I rounded the bottom corners.  Using Pumice Stone distress ink, I stamped the butterfly (Hero Arts) twice, once on the base cardstock, and once on the reverse of the gingham paper. I cut out the butterfly from the paper, and foam mounted it to the card.  I tucked just a touch of gingham ribbon in red from the tail of the butterfly.  I stamped “you did it!” (Hero Arts) in Pumice Stone ink. I finished by adding some grey pearls to the butterfly.

About Cardcrazed

I am a Christian, an empty nester who loves to make cards and ATCs. I also love to listen to Christian music.

Posted on June 25, 2011, in CFC8, Distress Ink, Hero Arts, PDCC87. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. >Hi Karen, I like how you used the colors and border punch! The torn and distressed edges are fantastic touches to this! So glad that you join the fun with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  2. >Adorable!! That gingham paired with the tone on tone stripes is a really cool look! Love the torn edge! Thanks so much for playing with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  3. >Very pretty!Thanks for playing at CAS-ual Fridays!hugsLaura

  4. >What a fab idea to trail some red gingham ribbon off that butterfly! I like the torn paper edge treatment, too. Thanks for playing with us at The Play Date Cafe!

  5. >Loving that you added a little ribbon trail behind your butterfly – such a great effect. That torn edge is a great touch too. Thanks so much for playing along at The Play Date Cafe and CAS-ual Fridays!

  6. >Awesome card! Thanks for playing along with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  7. >I love the torn border but I have trouble doing it myself. I think I need to practice more! Beautiful card!

Leave a Reply

